View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2018, 11:04am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Don't Confuse The Young'uns ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Recall that throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard is considered a dribble.
Good reminder. Throwing off opponent's backboard is indeed a dribble. Throwing off a player’s own backboard is not a dribble.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Not entirely relevant to this post ...
Agree, but still worth mentioning as long as it doesn't confuse the young'uns (like my earlier post that cited the wrong interpretation).

Let's give this another look:

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: his/her own backboard. RULING: Legal.

And ... Crickets chirping. Waiting with bated breath.

I still want to know with NFHS certainty what A1 can legally do after the ball hits the backboard and rebounds back toward A1 (assuming that the throw is definitely not considered to be a try)?

I would sleep better if we could fast forward this situation and take a close look at what could NFHS legally, or NFHS illegally, happen next in regard to A1's next action.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Dec 03, 2018 at 11:23am.
Reply With Quote