View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 03:20pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: (FEDERATION) I'm a little confused by those saying that the ball is dead just because it stops. It seems from the post that R43 is standing close, at least close enough that he's able to kick it, intentionally or not! If everyone's just standing there looking at it, I agree--blow it dead. But if either team is making any kind of movement toward the ball, hold the whistle. The way I'm visualizing this play, I would not blow it dead. That said:
SCRIMMAGE KICK:
Situation 1: Illegal kick, 15 yards from previous spot, replay, clock on snap since a new series will be awarded to A after a legal kick.
Situation 2: TB
Situation 3: Intentional kick -- see situation 1; unintentional kick -- see situation 2.

FREE KICK:
Situation 1: Illegal kick, 15 yards, replay the free kick down, clock when ball is legally touched
Situation 2: TB
Situation 3: Same as for scrimmage kick

NOTE: The result of the play in all situations (scrimmage and free kicks) is a TB. Force is not a factor on kicks going into R's end zone. All kicks crossing the plane of R's endzone are dead -- TB. (OK...I know unless a scoring attempt, blah, blah). And in situation #3, K has recovered a dead ball.

By the way...totally different for NCAA rules.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote