Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito
That's why I wouldn't have a travel. The player touched the ball in the frontcourt, but only controlled it in the backcourt. There must be player control for both a backcourt violation and for traveling, and since there was no player control, neither rule was violated.
|
He controlled the ball while airborne. No doubt, especially in slow motion replay. He controlled the ball while having frontcourt status (jumped from frontcourt).
But even with airborne control, it can't be a backcourt violation because of the throwin exception, not due to lack of player control.
But with airborne control the player in the video definitely traveled, lifting the first foot to touch down, the pivot foot, said foot returning to the floor (before the ball is released on a pass or a try).
The recent question being discussed is whether, or not, the calling official would get a good look and be able to see the travel without the benefit of a slow motion replay?
Most of us don't call fouls, or violations unless we're sure.
Two things taught to us by that great basketball official Confucius that are worth remembering:
You are where you were until you get where you're going.
When in doubt, don't be.