View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 25, 2018, 08:41am
umpjim umpjim is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
That's how I read it yet many umpires disagree OR refuse to call it. I'll call it if it's the intent of the rule unless someone shows us an interp that says differently.
The intent of the rule is to prevent you balking a pitcher for stopping if the batter holds his hand up. Pitcher comes set, batter holds hand up, you say no as pitcher delivers, batter swings and hits pitch. Are you going to call that a strike?
Reply With Quote