Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
ump76, I think that bktballref's point is that that it is possible that he is neither on or off...for example his helmet is breaking the plane of the hips of his nearest teammate who is on the los, so he is not properly positioned to be a back...but his head is not breaking the line drawn through the centers waist, so he is not properly positioned to be a lineman....so he is neither on or off
|
REPLY: But in such a case, that player's illegal position is the judgement/call of the near wing man. There's no real reason for him to communicate that to his partner across the field. At the snap, he should just throw his flag. Also, take it from experience...try
not to make this call--especially if he's out wide and not close to the "nearest teammate legally on the line." Either declare him on the line or off. Don't split hairs on this one and ruin an otherwise good game. Let his coach know and take a pass on the flag.