View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 26, 2018, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
The debate involves the USA Definition of No Catch under Rule 1. It says it is not a catch:

The issue here is that the ball knocked the glove off the fielder's hand before he/she demonstrates control of it. Once he/she prevents the glove from falling on the ground with the ball in it, does that make it a catch or not? Since the glove is not in its proper place at that moment, does the fielder still need to reach into the glove to secure the ball in his/her hand to finally validate the catch? Or is it sufficient to simply hold onto the glove with the ball in it?
The detached equipment rule has no relevance in the play since it was not intentional. Besides, the glove WAS in it's "proper place" when contact with the ball was made and the ball and/or glove never touched anything other than a defender.
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote