Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
[/B]
|
In play #1 we have a clear rule (7-1-1)with very specific language to cover the situation. In this case I do believe that we should follow it to the letter and the quotes of mine which you provided apply to this situation.
In play #2 we are admittedly stretching a rule to cover the situation. (10-4-2 or 10-4-1 it is unclear to me which rule would best apply.) Since we are doing this, the language given under whichever rule we select will not be as clear and specific to the situation, therefore, I believe that more flexibility in its application and interpretation is called for.
To be as clear as possible, I do not believe that a coach touching a player necessarily means that he has entered the court. However, if it is distracting, unnerving, or disadvantageous to such a player, I think that the coach's action should be construed as unsporting. Obviously this interpretation would only make sense if the player and coach were on opposing teams.
[/B][/QUOTE]OK,I think that I got it now.
If the B coach is standing by the sideline with his shoe half on/half off the court, and an A player who is dribbling the ball steps on the part of the B coach's shoe that is on the court,then you must-by the very specific language of R7-1-1-call A1 for being OOB and give team B the ball for a throw-in.
Howver,in almost the scenario above,if the B coach's foot was in the air instead of on the ground,and the A dribbler then contacted the part of the foot that was in-bounds, it would be a technical foul on the B coach instead of a violation-as per R10-4-1or2.
Correct,as per your reasoning above?