View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 07, 2018, 06:17pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
USA test question #2

Bottom of 7th, score tied. R1 scores the winning run from 2nd. Umpire notices that R1 did not touch 3rd, but no appeal made. F1 and infielders leave the field, but umpires are still there. F5 returns to 3rd and appeals R1 missing 3rd.

The umpire rules no appeal as the infielders have left the field.
Why isn’t this a case of “on the last play of the game”, “umpires had not left the field” ? RS 1 – E3
Seems to me is should be since E2 is specific to the end of an inning and E3 is specific to the end of the game. Maybe the first word to E3 should be "And"

Of course, my question is if the fielders are gone, why aren't the umpires?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote