View Single Post
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2018, 09:44pm
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Can you expand on this? If we accept that the next pitch isn't a play, then that would protect the OBS runner way beyond the intent of the rule.
The obstruction rule does not cancel the obstructed runners protection until a play is made on a different runner. If you are going to be a rule book literalist, then you'd have to keep protecting her through the pitch because that isn't a play on a runner. (It's a play, just not on the runner). The only solution here is to "fix-up" the rulebook. To me that actually does mean the play ends when the pitcher has control and is getting ready to pitch.
Reply With Quote