View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 15, 2018, 11:11pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
With the exception of a possible rotation in a 3/4 umpire system, why would anyone other than the PU need to be aware of this situation?
Two umpire system, two outs, R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st. B5 singles to left center; as R1 will appear to score, F7 throws directly to 3rd to make a play on advancing R2.

With no "play" at home, PU moves from the holding zone up to 3rd to make the call, as BU picks up trailing BR. R1 is coasting home (with no play being made), as PU rings out R2 at 3rd. Did the run score?

PU has his back to the plate making the call at 3rd. We are all hoping BU realizes there is a timing play here and can make that call (run scored or did not); I see no downside to a prepitch signal that reminds BU this might depend on him paying attention outside his immediate calling area!!
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote