View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 07, 2018, 12:52pm
lrucks1 lrucks1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 7
Team Control or Player Control

This happened to me during a game and my partner granted a team a TO when a player had clearly lost the ball. So my question is do you need player control or team control to grant a TO. I was under the assumption of player control because it would be a disadvantage to the defense if granted with team control. Example team A has control. Player A1 has the ball and loses control of the ball. Coach calls TO. In the NFHS rules team control is not lost until B gains possession of the ball. So in essence anytime team A loses the ball then Team A can call TO before team B possesses because they have team control.

Is this correct? I have been an official for 25 years and I have always granted TO's with player control am I correct or is it based on team control?
Reply With Quote