View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 04:41am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
I wouldn't say "incorrect", since he provided a direct quote from the Rule Book. It's just another inconsistency in the rules. One could also say that Rule 4-19-1 is "Incorrect" due to the language quoted above from Rule 6-7 Exception a. The NFHS could (and should) rewrite one of those rules to agree with the other. And no, I won't hold my breath!
Hmmm..you may be right there. The other rules are unambiguous in that the ball can be already dead with an airborne shooter. Given that, I'd chalk his reading of that exception up to bad grammar in the exception. I'm trying to figure out what they really meant by that and am a bit stumped.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote