Thread: timeout
View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 08:32pm
bucky bucky is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Either team.

Just to be clear: In a tied game, with both teams having multiple timeouts still available, with Team A in the double bonus, A1 is fouled so close to the end of the fourth period that the buzzer subsequently sounds and the clock shows 0:00:00.

Officials meet and decide that while the foul occurred barely before the buzzer, nobody has any definite knowledge regarding how much time was on the clock when the foul occurred. As the officials are moving into position to allow A1 free throws with the lane cleared, Team A requests and is granted a sixty second time out.

After the timeout, A1 misses the first of two free throws. Team B now requests a sixty second timeout.

The officials deny Team B's timeout request because the rule states that successive timeouts may not be granted to either team.

Right?
I vote incorrect. I feel that successive TO's, based on the wording, refers to each team.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote