Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
I don't see what's so hard to understand about that.
|
Show me a NFHS definition of ball at disposal (after a goal) that does not include the word count. I'm sure that judgment is utilized, but the rulebook doesn't include that aspect for definition purposes.
Rule 4 is all about definitions:
4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
A more practical definition my include proximity of the ball to the inbounder, time that the ball is available, etc., but the actual definition doesn't include these practical aspects of disposal.
By NFHS definition, how does an official deem, or judge, (other than common, practical sense) that the ball is at the disposal? Citation please.
4-7: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
Note the word "and". You can't have disposal without counting.
And you don't start a count until you deem disposal (by beginning the throwin count).
4-42-3: The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the
disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.