View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2017, 04:44pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's an interp from 10 years ago (or so) that says this is a correctable error. Search the archives.

FWIW, I disagree with the interp.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I think you're memory is fading (or mine is). I remember the opposite.

Until a player is offiically DQ,d by informing the coach, everything they do stands....even FT's. Error is not correctable.

Now, if the player had been properly DQ'd the coach and player going to end up with a T for playing a DQ'd player. You could also go so far as to charge the player with taking a FT to which they were not entitled. Not that I'd stack them up in reality but there is support in the rules.
First there was an old interp stating that the FTs stand as the player isn't DQ'd until the coach is notified. A few years ago there was a Case Book play stating the opposite--the FTs were correctable and to be retaken. However, that was quickly corrected before that same season in the online interps after the NFHS was informed of the erroneous ruling.
Current ruling is that the FTs stand.
Reply With Quote