View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2017, 06:32am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Illegal With Exception ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
If doing one act that can't be ignored b/c it is an attempt to draw attention results in a technical, then why can't another?
Why? Because the casebook play is associated with this rule:

A player shall not: Illegally contact the backboard/ring by: Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
NFHS case 10.4.4 Sit A Comment: A player who strikes either the backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-4-3.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 02, 2017 at 06:42am.
Reply With Quote