Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrenkicker
cowboyfan1 - The situation you are talking about in the OSU/Neb game was where the kick catch interference by K was a post-possession foul. Thus the hold by R was PSK and so both fouls didn't happen with a change of possession between them. Since they were both post-possession they offset by NCAA rules.
At least that is my read on the play. I don't know NCAA rules that well.
|
How could kick catching interference be post-possession?
|
I believe that the NCAA has always allowed R to keep the ball for kick catch interference. It is all a matter of when possession is concidered to have changed. NFL says possession changes at the kick. NF says possession changes at the end of the kick. I think NCAA says possession changes when the ball crosses the ENZ. That is why NCAA is allowed to decline the penalties by K before or around the snap and keep the ball.
|
NCAA Rule 2-2 states possession changes just as in NFHS when a player controls the ball. Rule 6-4 covers opportunity to catch the kick and the penalty is R gets to keep the ball and a 15-yard penalty. Possession does not change at the expanded neutral zone, in fact Rule 10-2-2-e-3 covering post scrimmage kicks never makes mention of an expanded neutral zone, that is an NFHS concept. NCAA book refers to crossing the line of scrimmage and three yards beyond the line of scrimmage. Yeah, yeah, that is the "expanded neutral zone" per se.