View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2017, 12:29pm
josephrt1 josephrt1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Nope, didn't mention only D3K, also mentioned bunt attempt... the Effect is a general explanation of INT penalties, and a list of those who could conceivably commit INT. One of which is the BR.

The next section then goes on to itemize the penalties for each individual player in that list.
Maybe we are starting to go around in circles, but why do you say the statement in 12.19 "If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of the interference, each base runner shall return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch." does not apply to a retired runner. It is part of a very broad section dealing with interference and then it is followed up by very specific cases of interference.

The case in the original post is covered by 12.19.2.5, and AR 12.19.2.5 specifically says the run would be taken away for the situation in the original post).

But in the added scenario by Youngump i don't find the exact situation in the rule book. But the general statement about the run not counting if the batter-runner had not reached first base seems to apply. Even if the runner closest to home is called out (runner going from 2nd to 3rd) and this is not a force, it seems the decision to count or not count the run is determined by the position of the batter-runner as stated in 12.19.

If batter-runner has reached first at the time of the interference, count the run. if the batter runner has not reached first, remove the run tally.

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote