View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 04, 2001, 11:44am
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Last night I worked with a guy who is a 7 year veteran. We had a play where A1 was bringing the ball up court and picked up her dribble just before the division line. She established her left foot as her pivot, then stepped over the line with her right foot and just stood there while being guarded. After a few seconds, my partner (trail)called a 5 second closely guarded call.

I didn't challenge him but asked him about it at a break. I asked him how he could have that call in that situation. He said the player put her foot in the front court, so the count was legitimate. I discussed this being a wrong interpretation and I could tell he didn't understand the rule about being in the front court.

He then said, "Oh, well. She was there for so long it probably was a 10 second backcourt violation anyway."

I just shook my head.
Reply With Quote