View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 05:06pm
IncorrectCall IncorrectCall is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
By the logic in this A.R., B1 could deflect the ball in the frontcourt, and A2 could recover it on the frontcourt side of the division line and inadvertently step into the backcourt, and there would be no violation.

There has to be a point at which the deflection by the defense is no longer relevant. If A2 (re)gaining player control with frontcourt status doesn't cancel the relevance of the deflection, what does?
@ a NCAA Clinic, it was explained that if it was judged that CONTROL was gained while having front court status (and then going into the back court), then it would still be a violation.

Only applies to a deflection (by rule, ball is now loose), and a subsequent tap (non-controlled) by offensive team from front court to back court - offensive team can recover.
Reply With Quote