View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:04pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
“It just doesn’t fit 2-10” is a bit vague. It says “Permitting the wrong player to attempt a free throw”. Isn’t that exactly what’ going on?
But I’m getting it........the DQ player explanation does help.
No, because it was determined some time ago that this is not fit the CR rule. He/she is not the wrong player, they are still a player until they are informed that they have been disqualified. The same would happen if a player with 5 fouls is discovered to actually have 5 fouls a minute later of play. You do not take off their points, they are still a legal player until they are told they are disqualified. Rule 2-14-2 clearly says that a player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified. Well, if they are never notified, they are still a player.

It is more than one rule at play here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote