Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond
The only higher up who counts is Art Hyland. I know the rules better than all my college supervisors. All my supervisors have 2-3 guys on their staff (or Al Battista) whom they go to for rules questions. When looking for confirmation from the NCAA, those questions go directly to Art Hyland.
It's wrong regardless of the rule change. That rule change has nothing to do with this play. There would need to be a rule change on when a throw-in ends for this case play to be valid.
|
By the logic in this A.R., B1 could deflect the ball in the frontcourt, and A2 could recover it on the frontcourt side of the division line and inadvertently step into the backcourt, and there would be no violation.
There has to be a point at which the deflection by the defense is no longer relevant. If A2 (re)gaining player control with frontcourt status doesn't cancel the relevance of the deflection, what does?