View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 23, 2017, 01:01am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Request And Grant Are Not The Same ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
Team A (not realizing it has no time outs left) requests a time out ... requesting the TO is a TF ...
Thanks to LeeBallanfant. I just noticed that a technical foul is not charged for being granted an excess timeout, but rather a technical foul is charged for requesting an excess timeout.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reffish View Post
Kinda neat what you learn when you read the Rules Book.
A team shall not: Request an excess time-out.

This wording is quite odd.

Team A has used all their alloted timeouts. Ball handler A1 loses the handle on the ball and has an interrupted dribble when Coach A requests an excess timeout. Official, noting that a Team A player is not in control (holding or dribbling live ball), knows that he cannot grant Team A a timeout in that situation and doesn't immediately grant the timeout, but instead, sounds his whistle and charges Team A with a technical foul for "request(ing) an excess timeout". Team A is never granted their requested timeout.

Is the official correct?

Of course not, but something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

The official may never find out that Team A requested an excess timeout:

The scorer shall: Signal the nearer official each time a team is granted a time-out in excess of the allotted number.

But, the official already has the knowledge:

The scorer shall: Record the time-out information charged to each team and notify a team and its coach, through an official, whenever that team is granted its final allotted charged time-out.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Sep 23, 2017 at 11:16am.
Reply With Quote