
Mon Aug 07, 2017, 07:32am
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
In all of my scenerios, either all the substitutes reported and were beckoned, (maybe there were mulitple subsitutions and an extra player was inadvertently left on the court) or the officials had no idea who the extra team member was, or how he go there, so a subsitute technical foul is not a rule book soluton (even if it were, we don't know whom to charge it to).
Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. (NFHS 10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously. If discovered while being violated.) One of the head coaches is yelling "They have six players on the court, that's a technical foul". Are six team members moving into positions to set up a full court press "participating", especially while the clock is running?
|
Start your 5-second count then blow your whistle for a Technical.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
|