View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 26, 2017, 08:17am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I have always had trouble with this (sorry for getting off topic).

1) A1 is holding the ball in his right hand by having his hand under the ball. He simply removes his right hand and allows the ball to strike the floor.

Is that considered a dribble? Doesn't seem to be based on the definition of a dribble.

2) A1 is dribbling the ball with his right hand. A1 makes a move that results in the ball, after striking the floor and on an upward motion, deflecting off his left hand. With the ball still in the air, A1 continues dribbling with the right hand. Based on 4-15-2, that would be an illegal dribble. I really do not see any official calling that. Or might it be considered an interrupted dribble and be legal by rule? Think of how many times dribblers literally touch the ball a second time before their dribble hits the floor. Happens all the time and I have never seen it called.
Start with a player holding the ball.
Any deliberate action by the player to release the ball is either a dribble, a pass, or a try for goal. An accidental release of the ball is a fumble.
Given that we can now answer your above questions.
1. Since the release is deliberate (dropping the ball on purpose), this isn't a fumble. We also can easily determine that it is not an attempt to throw for goal, so it is not a try. That leaves a pass or dribble. If the ball goes to another player it is a pass by NFHS definition. If it goes straight to the floor, it is a dribble by NFHS definition. You may wait to see who touches it next, if you so desire to determine between dribble and pass, if the situation warrants. However, you are certainly correct to deem that this action meets the definition of a dribble as soon as it reaches the floor because dropping the ball is merely "throwing" it without the player imparting any force and allowing just gravity to act upon the ball and take it to the floor.

2. Yes, that is an illegal dribble by rule. A player is not allowed two separate touches between bounces during a dribble. If you are not calling this, you are missing a violation.
Quick story: I was a PG in HS. My frosh coach actually taught us this illegal dribble move to split double teams. He even told us it was illegal and added that the officials will almost never call it because it happens so fast. The concept was a hard bounce of the ball wit your outside hand (away from the double team/trap) and when the ball came back up to that hand to quickly bat it across your belly to your other hand as you stepped through/between the trap and then bounce the ball with your other hand and continue on. After some practice, I got pretty good at it and the coach was right that the officials almost never whistled it.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Jul 26, 2017 at 08:23am.
Reply With Quote