View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 24, 2017, 05:39pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Batted Not Thrown ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
4-15-2.
Nice citation Nevadaref.

4-15-2. During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is
permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).


What if the ball isn't batted into the air, but rather is thrown into the air after being held with both feet on the floor (before it's dribbled even once)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4.44.3 SITUATION D: A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)
Certainly still illegal. But batted (implies no possession) isn't the same as thrown (implies possession).

The casebook play number (4.44.3) and the casebook play citation (9-4) both lead me to believe that this is a travel violation.

Nevadaref's rule number (4-15-2) deals with dribbling.

So, what type of violation is it?

It's a dravel, or maybe a a tribble.

Stupid NFHS rules editors.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jul 24, 2017 at 05:51pm.
Reply With Quote