View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 11, 2017, 12:14am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Concepts and thought process:

A batted ball which clears the home run fence in flight over fair territory is a 4 base award (home run). A batted ball which bounds (or is otherwise grounded) over the home run fence in fair territory is a 2 base award.

A batted ball remains in flight until it touches the ground, or another object which "grounds" it.

When a batted ball hits the top of a permanent fence and bounds over, it remains in flight and a home run; thus the fence by itself does not ground the ball. Equally, the defensive player alone does not ground the ball. Only a ball which hits the fence THEN the defensive player is grounded.

Every major rule set addresses a displaced temporary fence. In USA/ASA, it remains part of live ball territory (so far, "in the park"); in NCAA and NFHS, it is a home run if already beyond the base of the fence (home run line).

Conclusion:

Nothing in the OP resulted in the ball being grounded, so by definition it must be in flight. Result stated in first paragraph.
Just nitpicking, but I believe something that should be noted since I do not know who is ready this, a ball which touches the fence or wall, temporary or otherwise is no longer "in flight" since that is a term which can be/is construed as a batted ball still available to be legally caught to retire the B/BR.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote