Abandining the base and umpire jeopardy
USA softball rules
12U class C state tournament.
Runners on 1st and 3rd. 0 outs
Short fly to f4, caught thrown to f3. Presumably a double play. F3 however was off the base. BU from C position called the out. Base coach motioned that the foot was pulled. BU echoed out call. Runner returns to dugout. HC asks BU to confer with partner on pulled foot. Partner agrees, foot was off the base. Runner is however ruled out for abandoning the base.
Should runner be returned to 1st?
|