View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 25, 2017, 08:06pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,171
Originally Posted by Mountaincoach View Post
And if the same ball hit the same bat on the same knob and shot out into fair territory, what are you going to call then? Foul ball? No - it's a batted ball - play it.

The situation described in the OP is very simple--batter is OUT. Attempt and intention has nothing to do with it. It does on a bunt because you are out on a "3rd strike" bunt that goes foul but not on just a plain batted ball that goes foul. A bunt is a batted ball INTENTIONALLY MET. No intent, no bunt.
Still a batted ball.
Understand the difference.
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Sun Jun 25, 2017 at 08:08pm.
Reply With Quote