View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2001, 10:31pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This situation has come up several times on this board, and here is my paraphrase of what the consensus has been in other cases.

A1 is not shooting a try, since (by rule) a try can only be at one's own basket.

Because A1 is not shooting a try, continuous motion does not apply, and this is not a "shooting foul."

Therefore, the ball becomes dead on the whistle, and the basket does not count. If A is in the bonus, A1 will shoot FT's (at his own basket) for the common foul - otherwise A gets the spot throw-in under the basket (okay, not right under, but you know what I mean).

B1, of course, gets chewed out by the coach.
Good job, Mark!
Reply With Quote