View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2001, 10:03pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
This situation has come up several times on this board, and here is my paraphrase of what the consensus has been in other cases.

A1 is not shooting a try, since (by rule) a try can only be at one's own basket.

Because A1 is not shooting a try, continuous motion does not apply, and this is not a "shooting foul."

Therefore, the ball becomes dead on the whistle, and the basket does not count. If A is in the bonus, A1 will shoot FT's (at his own basket) for the common foul - otherwise A gets the spot throw-in under the basket (okay, not right under, but you know what I mean).

B1, of course, gets chewed out by the coach.
Reply With Quote