Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by youngump  Why?  She was tagged during a live ball while off the base.  She wasn't entitled to overrun protection because she went toward second.  You wouldn't ignore the tag if she ran halfway to second would you? | 
	
 Hey, I'm just guessing here because softball (and it's that way in every rule set I've seen) calls this an appeal.  And it specifically deals with a runner attempting to advance to second after making a turn at first base, so I'm thinking of the batter-runner who takes a step to second and then thinks better about it.  Your halfway-to-second situation is much different.
I've had trouble with this whole notion that the powers-that-be in NCAA, USA Softball, NFHS, USSSA, and maybe others that I don't work call this an appealable situation.  My response was merely an assumption as to why.  If it truly is NOT an appeal, then take it out of the damn books! 
