View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2017, 10:27pm
bucky bucky is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
After a made field goal when does the 5 second count for the ball to be inbounded. In a state qualifier in Minnesota tonight a team scored with about 6 seconds to go to cut the lead to 1 and was out of time outs. The team in the lead never inbounded the ball and won by 1. IIRC the count begins when the ball is placed at the disposal of the player throwing the ball inbounds and since there were less than 5 seconds left when this happened the game ended. Is this the proper way to handle the situation.
There is no specific objective starting point. The count, as signaled by the administering official, begins when he/she feels that the ball is at the disposal of the inbounding team.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote