Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21
So you're telling me 4-23-3c, particularly the part about the guard being able to move laterally or obliquely, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs, does not apply?
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Just the opposite. I'm telling you that it applies and is exactly what makes the defender's movement in these two plays legal. You are misapplying this rule because you are equating sideways movement to movement towards the shooter. That isn't correct. FORWARD movement by the defender is movement towards the shooter and is illegal at the time of contact. The rule specifically states that lateral (sideways) or oblique (at an angle) movement by the defender is allowed, yet you are penalizing the defender for that. That is where you are mistaken.
|
Exactly.
For sideways movement to be "into the shooter" the shooter would have to reach a spot on the side of the defender before contact. The contact on such a play would be on the defender's side and not on the front of the defender's torso.
On a play where the offensive player has not jumped, the contact is on the front of the defender's torso, the defender obtained LGP (previously) and is NOT stepping forwards, the defender has a legal position and can not commit a block.