View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 13, 2017, 04:20pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
So you're telling me 4-23-3c, particularly the part about the guard being able to move laterally or obliquely, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs, does not apply?
Just the opposite. I'm telling you that it applies and is exactly what makes the defender's movement in these two plays legal. You are misapplying this rule because you are equating sideways movement to movement towards the shooter. That isn't correct. FORWARD movement by the defender is movement towards the shooter and is illegal at the time of contact. The rule specifically states that lateral (sideways) or oblique (at an angle) movement by the defender is allowed, yet you are penalizing the defender for that. That is where you are mistaken.
Reply With Quote