Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Robert Goodman
					 
				 
				So you're saying the wording in the press release wouldn't apply to a player of team B's getting a hand on a snap that's slung far & shallow to a side of the field?  What about it gives you confidence that won't be ruled encroachment? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 7-1-6:  Now stipulates that it is encroachment to strike the ball or the snapper’s hand/arm prior to the snapper releasing the ball.
Rationale:  Defensive players are restricted from contacting the ball or the snapper’s hand(s) or arm(s) until the snapper has released the ball