Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Apparent try? How does the NFHS define that?
See case play below. Nowhere in the play does it say that this is a try, nor that it is to be treated as a try. Note the rule (below) that states that it can be a "thrown ball", the word "or" indicating that it my be something other than a try, or a tap, that still counts as three even if touched by a defensive player inside the arc.
5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: B1 who is in the two-point area; The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: Three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line.
5-2 2 Scoring: Art. 1 A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who
is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball
that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal
from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.
See 4-5-4.
I don't want to count three points for a pass from behind the arc that deflects off the shoulder of a defensive player inside the arc and goes in the basket, but I believe that Rule 5-2-2, and Casebook play 5.2.1 SITUATION C, indicate otherwise.
|
5.2.1 is talking about a defender trying to block a 3-point shot/throw such that the defender's foot is in the 2-point area. Don't expand it beyond the intended case. Case plays are not usually meant to be broad and general but point examples.
5-2-2, again, is talking about the general case of a ball throw without considering other complications.
We have 4.41.4B that clarifies that when it no longer has a chance to go in as thrown, it reverts back to a 2 if anyone else diverts the ball into the basket.