The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 05:49am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 12,475
2012-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations ...

2012-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 1: While A1's free throw is in flight, B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane. A1's free throw hits the ring and bounces straight up and hits a wire over the basket or hits the ring and goes over the backboard. RULING: The official should sound the whistle and call a violation on B1. A1 is given a substitute free throw. (9-1-4 Penalty 2b)

SITUATION 2: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-of-bounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A is awarded a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)

SITUATION 3: A1 is closely guarded by B1 for two seconds in Team As frontcourt. B2 then double-teams A1 and both B1 and B2 are closely guarding A1 for one second. B1 then drops off of A1 to cover another player. B2 continues to closely guard A1 for two more seconds. RULING: A1 has committed a violation since he/she was closely guarded continuously for a total of five seconds. (4-10; 9-10-1a)

SITUATION 4: A1 holds the ball for four seconds while B1 obtains a legal guarding position. A1 begins a dribble and does so for four seconds while B1 maintains a closely guarded position. A1 then holds the ball for four seconds while being closely guarded. RULING: There is no violation in this situation. Though closely guarded, A1 is legal in holding the ball for four seconds, then dribbling for four seconds and then holding the ball again for four seconds. (4-10; 4-23-1; 9-10-1a)

SITUATION 5: At half time, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)

SITUATION 6: As A1's try is in flight, A1, B1 and B2 get in position for a rebound. B1's back is against A1 as the rebound comes off the rim. B1 steps backwards and displaces A1 out of position by pushing/backing into him/her. B1 gains control of the rebound. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-7-1; 4-19-1)

SITUATION 7: Team A controls the ball in its backcourt and moves toward its frontcourt. A1 brings the ball into the frontcourt and immediately passes the ball to A2, who is posted low outside the lane, who then passes to A3 cutting across the lane. B1 is moving with A3 as he/she comes across the lane but has not established a legal guarding position. B1 uses his/her body to push A3 as a try is made. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-23-2)

SITUATION 8: Team A is hosting the contest. The official scorekeeper is wearing a red shirt to match that of the coaching staff of Team A. The referee of the officiating crew asks the scorekeeper to wear a vertically striped garment. The scorekeeper refuses to change his/her garment to honor the request of the official. RULING: The contest should be played and the situation reported to the school's administration and to the state office. COMMENT: There is not a penalty associated with this rule. The intent of the rule is to quickly identify the official scorekeeper at the table. (2-11-12)

SITUATION 9: Player A1 scores a field goal. Team B has the ball for an end line throw-in. Thrower-in B1 may move along the end line. A2 intentionally fouls B2 near the end line. Following the free throws, the official awards the ball to Team B and rules that Team B still has the privilege of moving along the end line. RULING: Incorrect call. The ensuing throw-in must be made from the designated spot. (Rule 7-5-4b)

SITUATION 10: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the successful field goal, then proceeds out-of-bounds to start the throw-in effort. B1 moves along the end line while attempting to locate an open teammate. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is kicked by A2 near the end line. The official rules a violation and awards Team B a designated spot throw-in. RULING: Incorrect call. Team B retains the right to move along the end line for the ensuing throw-in. (Rule 7-5-7b)

SITUATION 11: While the ball is in flight on a free throw by A1, A4 breaks the plane of the three-point line with his/her foot before the ball hits the ring, backboard or the free throw ends. RULING: A4 has committed a free-throw violation. The official should sound the whistle immediately and award the ball to Team B for a throw-in at a spot nearest the violation. (Rule 9-1-3f; 9-1-4 Penalty 1a)

SITUATION 12: A1 is holding the ball in her/his frontcourt. B1 moves to within 6 feet and stands and faces A1. The official does not apply the closely guarded rule because B1 is not playing aggressively. RULING: The official is incorrectly applying the closely guarded rule. The amount of movement or the actual body movement of B1 is irrelevant. (Rule 4-10)

SITUATION 13: A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt and B1 assumes a legal, closely guarded position. A2 moves into a position to set a legal, on-ball screen on B1. B2, playing good defense, trails the screen and switches onto A1 as he comes off the screen, still dribbling the ball. RULING: The official should continue the closely guarded count and when the count reaches 5 seconds, sound the whistle and call a violation on A1. (9-10-2)
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 06:23am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 12,475
Common Foul ...

SITUATION 5: At half time, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)

A personal foul is the correct call, more specifically, an intentional personal foul. At worst, this is an incomplete answer, not an incorrect answer.

There are only two major classifications of fouls, personal, or technical. It certainly wasn't an intentional technical foul. There was contact, while the ball was live, and the clock was running. There is no third choice, unless "no foul" is a third choice.

A "better" incorrect situation would have stated, "The official calls a common foul." Now that's certainly an incorrect answer, not just an incomplete answer, but just dead wrong.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 07, 2012 at 10:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 13,986
Quote:
SITUATION 7: Team A controls the ball in its backcourt and moves toward its frontcourt. A1 brings the ball into the frontcourt and immediately passes the ball to A2, who is posted low outside the lane, who then passes to A3 cutting across the lane. B1 is moving with A3 as he/she comes across the lane but has not established a legal guarding position. B1 uses his/her body to push A3 as a try is made. RULING: Foul on B1. (4-23-2)
While I agree with this ruling, I wonder why it was included. Is there anyone who would not know that "B1 uses his/her body to push A3 as a try is made" is a foul? Is the rest of the detail needed (some deatil is useful to "set the scene", but this much seems excessive)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 427
Im wondering why #4 was included as well?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 10:23am
Adam's Avatar
Welcome Corporate Masters
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: < 6999 feet
Posts: 24,709
I was wondering why #4 was included, too.
__________________
"Don't make me connect the dots when you already know what the picture looks like." - Mrs. Adam
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Lead or Trail depending on the circumstances.
Posts: 8,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I was wondering why #4 was included, too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Im wondering why #4 was included as well?
For that matter, half of these are pretty basic concepts. It seems this is more of a basic refresher than it is a clarification of confusing or ambiguous situations.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Free Trial for New Clients
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 12:57pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 1,503
Nothing New Under the Sun Anymore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
For that matter, half of these are pretty basic concepts. It seems this is more of a basic refresher than it is a clarification of confusing or ambiguous situations.
The reason for this is obvious: the Fed, monitoring this forum, realizes that all true controversial questions and ambiguous situations are effectively, clearly, and expeditiously settled here on our discussion board, such that they really have nothing new to publish. So they've gotta settle for the hum-drum refresher situations.
Or am I just getting cocky?

__________________
Three-Man: 'Cuz Six Eyes on the Ball are Always Better than Just Four
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 02:13pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,177
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
The reason for this is obvious: the Fed, monitoring this forum, realizes that all true controversial questions and ambiguous situations are effectively, clearly, and expeditiously settled here on our discussion board, such that they really have nothing new to publish. So they've gotta settle for the hum-drum refresher situations.
Or am I just getting cocky?

If that were truly the case, there would be the handful to idiotic interpretations and editorial changes that NFHS is notorious for.

And I got to agree with Camron...a lot of these interpretations, there are applicable case book plays that clearly spell out some of these situations.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 13,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
For that matter, half of these are pretty basic concepts. It seems this is more of a basic refresher than it is a clarification of confusing or ambiguous situations.
I agree. #4 is there because it's a POE, but it doesn't add anything.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 476
Smile Picking nits

SITUATION 11: While the ball is in flight on a free throw by A1, A4 breaks the plane of the three-point line with his/her foot before the ball hits the ring, backboard or the free throw ends. RULING: A4 has committed a free-throw violation. The official should sound the whistle immediately and award the ball to Team B for a throw-in at a spot nearest the violation. (Rule 9-1-3f; 9-1-4 Penalty 1a)

Unless, of course, there is another free throw to be attempted.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 07:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,491
Quite honestly, with the exception of #8, this is a complete waste of time and space.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
2012-13 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 10: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the successful field goal, then proceeds out-of-bounds to start the throw-in effort. B1 moves along the end line while attempting to locate an open teammate. B1 releases the throw-in pass and the ball is kicked by A2 near the end line. The official rules a violation and awards Team B a designated spot throw-in. RULING: Incorrect call. Team B retains the right to move along the end line for the ensuing throw-in. (Rule 7-5-7b)

I always try to read too much into rules and interpretations, but if the kick by A2 happened further down the court (not in the area where a throw in would revert to the end line), then it would just be a designated spot throw in near where the violation occurred, right ???
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 08:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Welcome Corporate Masters
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: < 6999 feet
Posts: 24,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
I always try to read too much into rules and interpretations, but if the kick by A2 happened further down the court (not in the area where a throw in would revert to the end line), then it would just be a designated spot throw in near where the violation occurred, right ???
Correct.
__________________
"Don't make me connect the dots when you already know what the picture looks like." - Mrs. Adam
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 07, 2012, 08:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 8,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
I always try to read too much into rules and interpretations, but if the kick by A2 happened further down the court (not in the area where a throw in would revert to the end line), then it would just be a designated spot throw in near where the violation occurred, right ???
Why would you think it wouldn't be?
__________________
For my next trick, watch me pull a rabbit out of this hat
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 08, 2012, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
SITUATION 5: At half time, Team A is leading the game. A1, A2 and A3 are passing the ball among themselves to run time off the clock while not allowing Team B to gain control of the ball. B1 goes out and pushes A1 to stop the clock. The official calls a personal foul. RULING: Incorrect call. The foul was deliberate and should have been called an intentional foul. A1 should shoot two free throws and Team A should be awarded the ball for a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. (4-19-3c)
At half time shouldn't the players be in the locker room listening to thier coach?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS 2012 Rules Book usc2626 Football 42 Sun Sep 09, 2012 09:19pm
Basketball Interpretations ronny mulkey Basketball 34 Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am
NFHS 2009-10 Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 3 Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 23 Sun Nov 29, 2009 09:53pm
NFHS Rules Interpretations - Interntional Foul on the Offense DownTownTonyBrown Basketball 51 Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:37pm
NFHS RULES INTERPRETATIONS whiskers_ump Softball 0 Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:47am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1