The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Ball through basket from below

Last night GV game, girl under basket shoots and the ball pushes the net up into the basket ring, but the ball never actually passes through the net or the ring. Crew has no call. 9.4.4. states that a player shall not cause the ball to pass through the basket from below which to me means all the way through the basket including the ring, is this the correct interpretation? What if the ball goes up through the net and passes halfway through the ring but does not rise entirely above the ring level?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
What if the ball goes up through the net and passes halfway through the ring but does not rise entirely above the ring level?
If you were to call a violation, I would not have a problem with it. On the other hand if you just played on, I would not have a problem with it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,227
This have been debated previously and I don't believe there was a meeting of the minds. Some believe that if it passes halfway through they would call it, others believe that if it passes entirely, etc... I believe the rules give you latitude to call what you please on this subject

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
I believe the rules give you latitude to call what you please on this subject

-Josh
Hate that!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Hate that!
Rules can't cover every possible scenario all the time

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
+1.

Personally, I'm calling this only when I'm certain it's a violation. And I'm only certain if it passes entirely through.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,813
Ball enters net from below caused by A1 but becomes entangled in net and comes to rest (A).....not quite all the way through (B).....all the way through sitting on or near rim entangled by net. I know, highly improbable.

In B, I might go AP as netting caused tangled 'lodged' ball. A could be take your choice.........more likely an AP as you have time to digest the call.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 14,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
through the basket
That's the key phrase. What's the definition of "basket?" (and, I admit it's slightly more difficult to find since they moved it from rule 4).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 11:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
I'm not sure how there could be any difference of opinion on this.

"A player shall not travel with the ball, as in 4-44, intentionally kick it, as in 4-29, strike it with the fist or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below."

What does it mean for one object to pass through another? Does "pass through" mean the same as "enter"? Or does it indicate something more?

To me, the phrase "pass through the basket" indicates that it does more than just enter the basket, it enters and then keeps on going until it emerges out the top. OTOH, if the ball only enters the basket, but does not also pass through, then you haven't met both conditions. Thus, no violation.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming

Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Wed Dec 02, 2009 at 11:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 02, 2009, 06:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 12,537
Ten Second Count And International Date Line Situations

Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Hate that!
I agree. I would prefer that the rules give me longitude.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kick ball after basket oc Basketball 10 Mon Dec 03, 2007 02:49am
Basket-ball in America malycia Basketball 11 Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:42pm
did the ball go in the basket? sc/nc ref Basketball 4 Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:42pm
ball entering basket below the rim stewcall Basketball 5 Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:58am
Jump Ball Basket: 2 or 3 pts? cropduster Basketball 18 Fri Nov 07, 2003 07:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1