The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 32 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 10:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
NFHS Forum has Disappeared-- Interpdbl ck

Hello VB folks,

Hopefully some of the great NFHS posters will head over here, so we can have the same great conversations....

Had a nice discussion with my R2 after our match tonight about over the net violations by R. Play situation:

R bump, sets, spikes a hard ball into S's court. R bumps the ball but it is heading to the net. S4, heads for the spot where the ball will land. S4 gets under the ball, but chooses to play it off the net after it hits the net, in the hope she can put it out for a teammate to hit over. At lerast that is what it looked like to me as R1.

R4 sees the ball coming, and reaches over the net before the ball gets to the plane of the net, or the net itself, and roofs it down.

To me, it is a no doubt OTN violation, even if S4 doesn't try to tip the ball before it gets to the net, she has the right to play it, and since it hasn't penetrated the plane of the net, S4 has no right to play on it (see 9-5-5).

My partner says that R4 has every right to the ball because S4 is not trying to attack it or play it in the air. She is hoping for a rebound off the net, and cannot play the ball.

While the rule book is not crystal clear about it, IMO it does not matter how S4 plays the ball, the fact that she is at the net with any kind of play on the ball is enough to force R to wait until the ball has penetrated the net before she can play it.

Comments?
.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 01, 2009, 11:21pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
jk, you are correct and your partner is all wet. Team S has not had an opportunity to complete their attack since R4 blocked the ball while it was over Team S's court. OTN on R4...end of discussion, period.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 07:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
thanks Jan

Bear,

It seems so obvious I almost didn't post the discussion, but my partner is a pretty good official, so it is possible I didn't understand whats going on.

BTW, what is going on with the NFHS Forum? Is it dead forever?
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 08:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 640
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCBear View Post
jk, you are correct and your partner is all wet. Team S has not had an opportunity to complete their attack since R4 blocked the ball while it was over Team S's court. OTN on R4...end of discussion, period.
I would add, however, that if the ball was CLEARLY going to clear the net and S was not playing the ball (hoping for a rebound off the net that CLEARLY was not going to happen), then IMO she had an opportunity to complete the attack and the block would be legal. Simply blocking the ball over S's court would not necessarily make it illegal, so much as the determination of the completion of attack opportunity.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 12:16pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkumpire
BTW, what is going on with the NFHS Forum? Is it dead forever?
I talked with Mike Meehan, the Forum Moderator at NFHS in Indianapolis and the Forum is back up and running as of Noon ET today. (Actually I called to b**ch at them for taking it down without notice.)
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 640
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Up with new address...

NFHS Forum: Volleyball
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 685
Felix, yes but

All these kind of situations are judgment calls to one extent or the other, since your response seem to me to be saying that if it is clear that the ball is going over and S4 is not trying to finish the attack, then the attack was finished and R was legally allowed to go across the plane of the net to attack the ball.

In my case, I made a judgment that it was not clear the ball was going over the net, in fact, I thought it would hit the net or be short. So in my view (HTBT), it was clear S4 was clearly OTN illegally.

Enjoy the post, and it is good to see you posting again.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 02, 2009, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 640
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkumpire View Post
All these kind of situations are judgment calls to one extent or the other, since your response seem to me to be saying that if it is clear that the ball is going over and S4 is not trying to finish the attack, then the attack was finished and R was legally allowed to go across the plane of the net to attack the ball.

In my case, I made a judgment that it was not clear the ball was going over the net, in fact, I thought it would hit the net or be short. So in my view (HTBT), it was clear S4 was clearly OTN illegally.

Enjoy the post, and it is good to see you posting again.
Correct. I was just differentiating that you could have a penetrating block and it be legal. Your interpretation makes total sense in your scenario.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Forum jpref Football 7 Wed Sep 02, 2009 03:49pm
NFHS Forum JR12 Baseball 2 Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:09pm
NFHS Forum BigUmp56 Baseball 3 Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:31pm
NFHS Forum CecilOne Softball 5 Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:23pm
NFHS Forum closed SWFLguy Softball 1 Mon Jan 30, 2006 05:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1