![]() |
|
|
|||
jk, you are correct and your partner is all wet. Team S has not had an opportunity to complete their attack since R4 blocked the ball while it was over Team S's court. OTN on R4...end of discussion, period.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
thanks Jan
Bear,
It seems so obvious I almost didn't post the discussion, but my partner is a pretty good official, so it is possible I didn't understand whats going on. BTW, what is going on with the NFHS Forum? Is it dead forever? |
|
|||
I would add, however, that if the ball was CLEARLY going to clear the net and S was not playing the ball (hoping for a rebound off the net that CLEARLY was not going to happen), then IMO she had an opportunity to complete the attack and the block would be legal. Simply blocking the ball over S's court would not necessarily make it illegal, so much as the determination of the completion of attack opportunity.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
Up with new address...
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Felix, yes but
All these kind of situations are judgment calls to one extent or the other, since your response seem to me to be saying that if it is clear that the ball is going over and S4 is not trying to finish the attack, then the attack was finished and R was legally allowed to go across the plane of the net to attack the ball.
In my case, I made a judgment that it was not clear the ball was going over the net, in fact, I thought it would hit the net or be short. So in my view (HTBT), it was clear S4 was clearly OTN illegally. Enjoy the post, and it is good to see you posting again. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Forum | jpref | Football | 7 | Wed Sep 02, 2009 03:49pm |
NFHS Forum | JR12 | Baseball | 2 | Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:09pm |
NFHS Forum | BigUmp56 | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:31pm |
NFHS Forum | CecilOne | Softball | 5 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 09:23pm |
NFHS Forum closed | SWFLguy | Softball | 1 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 05:42pm |