The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 28, 2007, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle
In the 4 hits v. illegal hit, the illegal hit didn't occur -- because the ball was dead the instant it touched the player for the fourth hit. It wasn't alive long enough for there to be prolonged contact.
That's my point exactly. The instant the ball touches any player for the 4th contact it becomes dead - who it touches doesn't matter. Suppose the 4th contact was the ball hitting a player below the waist (illegal in NFHS) - the call is still 4 hits (at least in NFHS).

I know there's a reference to it in the NFHS material for this year, and it was mentioned in our rules meeting. I don't have my books with me & the online version is currently down - if I get a chance this weekend I'll dig it out & pass on the info for you.....
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1