The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Sep 14, 2007, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member

Question Do away with rotations/overlaps?

A friend of mine proposed something radical to me the other day, and I am interested in what the wider community's thoughts on it are. I'm sure I'm going to use entirely the wrong language to say this (hey, I'm a rookie!), but...

What if we did away with the whole rotation thing, other than rotating the service? Let the team set up however they want. That would eliminate the whole need to judge overlaps and all that, which really doesn't seem to have much to do with the game.

What do ya'll think?
Old Fri Sep 14, 2007, 03:48pm
Resident VB Rules Guru

Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
What reasoning did your friend give for the proposal?? It can't have come from a volleyball person's point of view.

You are dead wrong in saying that overlaps and rotation don't have an affect on the game. Eliminating having to be in proper alignment would give an advantage to the team that would utilize it. The back-row setter could be camped in the middle of the front zone waiting for the passer to give her the ball so that she can set the dominating hitter without having to attempt to get into proper position to set the ball.

Plus, there are teams who have a hard time remembering who is serving next and allowing them to go anywhere that they want to without being in serving order is creating even more chaos out of an already chaotic situation.
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)