![]() |
|
|
|||
2nd Class -- R2 duties
Ok, so I had my second class last night. They put us on the floor with a couple low-level teams and had us practice blowing the whistle and giving signals. Then we reffed from each position for a few minutes each.
Starting out, I'm probably going to be doing a lot of lower level stuff. And last night, it seemed like there was NOTHING for the R2 to do, except signal in subs and time-outs. You stand there and move from side to side, but the skill level was low enough that there weren't a lot of rallies and nothing really for the R2 to look at. So. . . what is the R2 looking at/for during play? |
|
|||
Quote:
Actually the R2 has many responsibilities - take a look at the rule book for a complete list. In addition to what you mentioned, the R2 is also responsible for coordinating with the table to make sure the scorer & libero tracker are on board & know what they're doing, verifying that the lineups are correctly entered on the score sheet, checking the score sheet during time outs for accuracy and that the correct players are on the court and in their designated rotation positions before each game starts. During play the R2 is responsible for determining legal/illegal alignment of the receiving team at the moment the ball is struck for serve, and for net and centerline violations by either team. When a rally ends you also mirror the signals of the R1. As you gain more experience you'll learn the discrete signals used to assist the R1 - letting them know things like where the setters are, front row/back row status of blockers & attackers and illegal contact in situations where the R1's view is blocked and you have a clear view. While the R1 is more visible, IMHO the R2's job is more difficult. A good R2 can make the match run more smoothly and the R1's job easier. Work hard at being a good R2 and you'll advance quickly. |
|
|||
In addition to what Tim mentioned, bench control and "serving and protecting" your R1 are *major* responsibilities. A bad R2, who allows a coach to yell across the court unchecked, can go a long way toward making a match wind up totally out of control.
Scrapper, if you have any D-I colleges near you, watch those officials work. You'll learn a ton.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by TimTaylor; Mon Jul 30, 2007 at 01:18pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
If Scrapper is using NFHS rules, disregard this. ![]()
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee Last edited by FMadera; Tue Jul 31, 2007 at 05:58pm. |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
A player contacting any part of the net, including net cables or antennas is a net foul. Exception - it is not a foul if a player's loose hair touches the net or if the force of the ball hit by an opponent pushes the net or cables into the player. These are covered in Rule 9 for NFHS..... Quote:
![]() In your prematch conference ask your R1 what signals he/she wants from you and let them know if they ask for something you're not comfortable with. Last edited by TimTaylor; Mon Jul 30, 2007 at 09:55pm. |
|
|||
Felix, your acquired dyslexia kicked in again!!! As you said, the R2 will not have the cards, BUT the R1 will ALWAYS (well, almost always unless you're a ding-ding like I tend to be sometimes and forget to get them out of my kit!!!) have red and yellow cards with them.
Scrapper, at the moment, it may seem to you that the R2 (umpire) doesn't have very much to do, but as you gain experience, you will find that you are working harder to do an adequate job as the R2 (umpire) than you do when you are the R1 (referee). During play, as the umpire, your concentration begins by observing the receiving team for out-of-alignments and then continues by focusing on action between the attack lines. DO NOT FOLLOW THE BALL - that is the referee's job! Concentrate on the blocker's side of the net, looking through the net to see the attacker's and blocker's approach to, take-off and landing at and exit from the net area. Your focus is on the centerline, up the net, back down the net and the players leaving the net area. Then, you shift to the other blocker's side and do it all over again. There is an art and a system to being an outstanding umpire (R2) and it takes time to learn what you are doing, what works and what doesn't.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
Toolman, very nice job as always!
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
|
|||
3 calls to clear up
![]() 2nd sit: same prefix but was 3rd hit, ball above net ht. no one near net for R team, S team member goes over net prior to breaking plane to tip ball down to R side floor. 3rd sit:R team member at net, kills 2nd or 3rd ball to R team side, but follow through contacts the net. Any thoughts or comments appreciated.
__________________
UMP64 Thoes who cannot remember the past, are condemned to repeat it! |
|
|||
Quote:
If it's a block, and the team had an opportunity to complete their attack, no fault. It is never legal to attack a ball that is entirely on the opponent's side. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
In sit 2, if it is still on opponents side of the net and it is their 3rd hit, it is permissable to attack the ball before it breaks the plane of the net?
![]()
__________________
UMP64 Thoes who cannot remember the past, are condemned to repeat it! |
|
|||
![]()
Ump64, no, even though the team had completed their attack, the ball can NEVER be attacked over the opponent's court. It can only be blocked over the opponent's court once the attack is considered to be complete.
In situation 2, the ball is over A's court and they have hit the ball 3 times, therefore their attack is considered to be complete. In this instance, B can reach over the net and block the ball before it gets to the net (in other words, while it is still over A's court) since A's attack is considered to be complete following their third hit. I hope that clears things up a little for you.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010) PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012) USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pregame duties question | Daryl H. Long | Softball | 16 | Fri May 18, 2007 06:05am |
Pregame duties | lukealex | Basketball | 10 | Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:56pm |
clock operator and their duties | fmkjrunc | Basketball | 10 | Fri Oct 21, 2005 03:47am |
Officials' Duties | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 4 | Thu Dec 04, 2003 05:29am |
Duties of officials | mrsocko2002 | Football | 7 | Tue Mar 25, 2003 04:41pm |