The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 22, 2006, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member

Fox Pearl

I have been refeering 5th-8th grade volleyball for three years I noticed in the small gyms that my hearing was muffled after the games(blowing a whistle 100-200 times a night) I was using a Fox 40, but I switched to a Fox Pearl, No more hearing loss, The Fox pearl has a lower tone. New to the forum, and I thought I would pass that along...
Old Thu Mar 23, 2006, 01:39pm
M.A.S.H.

I believe the Pearl is a two-chambered whistle. So for the small crowds or where there isn't a lot of noise it probably works fine. However, for the bigger crowd and the more noise, I've heard it's best to keep the Pearl and even the Fox40-Mini in your pocket and use a Classic.

I can't really speak for the Pearl, however I tried a Mini this year (basketball) and didn't like it too well. I could tell there was a different sound and that it probably could be drowned out, plus I didn't like the way it felt in my mouth. It's the Classic for me all the way.

Last edited by tjones1; Fri Mar 24, 2006 at 11:24am.
Old Fri Mar 24, 2006, 09:06am
Official Forum Member

Thanks for the reply. Yes in big gyms and basketball I use the classic, and also for tournaments.
Now if I can just figure out this overlap thing.......
Old Fri Mar 24, 2006, 11:32am
Resident VB Rules Guru

Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Thumbs up Another option

I have found that the Molten WH1 does a very nice job for volleyball matches. It has a nice loud tone that is distinguishable from other whistles in the same gym (especially helpful during a tournament situation with mutliple courts playing). You might consider checking it out.