The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Sep 08, 2005, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member

Wink

This is my first year officiating HS VB. In our area - Columbus, GA - JV and Varsity games are generally officated with 1 referee, except for state playoffs. Over the last 3 weeks I have worked hard to prepare for calling my first match (JV) on my own (last night) - know the rules, worked several matches with a second experienced official, watched numerous JV/Varsity matches to get to know the game, etc. Still it is a lot to cover for 1 official. My question is whether 1 man crews are the norm in your area, whether they were at one time and if so how you went about convincing the schools to go to a 2 man crew. Luckily for me, I have officiated basketball for the last 8 years so I brought certain skills to the table - strong whistle, crisp mechanics, decisiveness, game management skills, etc. This, hard work and a GREAT mentoring official (if I had a dedicated guy like this in basketball I would have advanced a lot sooner) has gotten me to the state where I feel comfortable on the platform. It is an awesome responsibility however for 1 offical. Thoughts?
Old Thu Sep 08, 2005, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
I won't speak for the rest of the country, but...

One man crew? Straight out of the stone ages...

In other words, to say it's definitely not the norm. I've done it when partners haven't shown up, but matches here are always scheduled with 2.
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Old Thu Sep 08, 2005, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member

Thumbs down

Nope. Have only seen this in the smallest of small schools. I don't even want to think about it! Yuk!
Old Thu Sep 08, 2005, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member