The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 04:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
I went to my state rules interp meeting last night, boy was it fun. We (Indiana) are going to the Libero position this year. I had a question about this position. One rule that made me think, if the Libero sets the ball in front of the attack line no other player can attack it over the plane of the net or it is considered an illegal attack. How often does this happen / get called? It seems like a hard thing to enforce / watch for am I over thinking this and it is easy or does it just not happen so don't worry about it?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 06:03pm
Resident VB Rules Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose, CA - the Capital of Silicon Valley
Posts: 481
Send a message via AIM to MCBear Send a message via MSN to MCBear Send a message via Yahoo to MCBear Send a message via Skype™ to MCBear
Dave, the libero is a back-row defensive specialist. With that being said, if the libero is in the front zone and sets the ball with fingertip action so that while the ball is completely above the top of the net, it is attacked (either on a slamming attack by a hitter or as a dump by the setter), it is an illegal attack. The whistle is blown to kill the play, the illegal back-row attack signal (NFHS Signal #8) is given and the open hand is pointed at the libero indicating that they are the one who committed the fault.

This play happens occasionally, especially when the libero receives a first-ball over with a setting motion while in the front zone and she just happens to set it to the setter who decides it would be a great idea to dump the ball to the other side. That is the play you have to be aware of.

The other one is the libero doing a back-row attack from behind the attack line. It is a fine line sometimes as to whether the libero completed the attack while the ball was completely above the top of the net or not. If the ball is completely above the top of the net, we have an illegal back-row attack committed by the libero.


Good luck as you get used to looking for and seeing these plays.
__________________
Jan G. Filip - San Jose, CA
EBVOA Rules Interpreter Emeritus
NCS Volleyball Officials Coordinating Committee Recorder
CIF State Volleyball State Championships Referee (2005), Scorekeeper (2006-2007) & Libero Tracker (2010)
PAVO State Referee (2014) / PAVO Certified Scorekeeper (2014) / PAVO Certified Line Judge (2012)
USAV Junior National Referee (resigned 2013) / USAV National Scorekeeper (2014)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1