![]() |
|
|
|||
Illegal attack - libero set
NFHS, Ohio situation. In a high school match last night, I had an illegal attack call due to a libero setting in front of the 10' line for an attack that was completed above the height of the net. It wasn't a typical 2-handed set but rather a defensive action that resulted from a hard-driven ball being directed toward the libero's face. She instinctively threw up her hand in front of her face but not above her head. The ball went off her one hand, up in the air and the left side hitter killed it. Of course, one coach agreed with the illegal attack call and other argued that she was just defending herself.
NFHS rule book references "overhead" finger action and the case book references "overhand" finger action as not being legal by the libero on or in front of the 10' line for attacks that are completed above the height of the net. Has anyone else 1) ever had an illegal attack call for a setter that was one-handed and defensive in nature as opposed to offensive, and 2) had any situations where finger action was overhanded (as differentiated from underhanded) but not overhead? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Having answered your questions directly (and utterly unhelpfully), I mostly wanted to say that I have a hard time picturing a defensive, one handed contact that includes finger action. I doubt you have a clip, but it would be interesting to see the play. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
2) Yes -- sometimes the setter uses a "deep dish" set that would be finger action but not overhead. It's harder to do this without it being prolonged contact, but it happens with some regularity. |
|
|||
fast forward to 30:25
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Bx1Eemczxc
Forward to 30:25. Is this a Back Row attack violation? Libero is in front of the attack line. Contacts the ball with 2 hands over the head. The next resulting hit is attacked from above the net into the opponents side of the net |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
BTW... that was me last year. The play surprised me. But I was awake and realized the infraction.
Thanks for the support. So to answer the question in the original post. Yes, the 2 hand set by the libero inside the attack line because she is basically in a defensive mode |
|
|||
Quote:
Others might interpret her actions differently, and the determination might depend on the level. (Part of the problem might be that "set" does not seem to be a defined term in the rules). |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Illegal back row attack | Raybo | Volleyball | 2 | Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:11am |
Illegal player...libero | oldsetter | Volleyball | 13 | Wed May 14, 2014 11:01pm |
Illegal Libero Replacement | blueump | Volleyball | 4 | Wed Oct 05, 2011 03:38pm |
Libero Back Row Attack? | illiniwek8 | Volleyball | 2 | Sun Sep 12, 2010 07:45pm |
Libero attack / attack over the net | DaveASA/FED | Volleyball | 2 | Fri Oct 13, 2006 08:03am |