![]() |
|
|||
Serve Part II
I am the R2. R1 calls for the serve. I observe the alignment of the Receiving team. I give a peak to observe the alignment of the Serving team. I notice what I believe to be an alignment error on the serving team (RB and RF are overlapping). I am not sure so I just store the information in my head. Serving team scores the point. R1 calls for serve. I take a better look at the serving team alignment. They are in the same alignment. Again I am not 100% that they are illegal. Serving team scores the point. R1 calls for serve. Same alignment. Serve team loses point. I get out my cheat sheet to note the rotation. I am now certain Serving team was out of alignment for their last 3 serves. Two of the serves they scored points. Substitutions were made by both teams. Before the request for serve, the New serving team calls Time out. Coming out of the time out the Coach from the old serving team requests an alignment check for their team. (I guess he believed they were in illegal alignment). I get the players into their appropriate positions.
Here is my question. Can I inform the R1 that the team was in illegal alignment for scoring of 2 points and thus have the 2 points removed? |
|
|||
Quote:
When you line them up, you can always make sure the R1 sees what the lineup *should* be, and hopefully the R1 will be more mindful moving forward.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
I agree. I have a hard time penalizing a team for requesting a lineup check to determine if they were out of order and then penalizing them for being out of alignment anyway. If it involves something that you shouldn't be looking at anyway as the R2, then I think you have potentially opened a can or worms for yourself and for your R1 (you basically questioned his credability in front of everyone). While the rules allow it, I think this would be a tough situation to call.
|
|
|||
Depending on the relationship / experience of the officials, and assuming this is before the serve and not after the TO, R2 (or R1 for the receiving team) can give a discrete "out of rotation" signal to R1. R1 can either shake his head or make the call -- it's then up to R2 to explain it to the coach involved and / or take the heat if R2 is wrong.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Serve | Zoochy | Volleyball | 4 | Tue May 09, 2023 11:03pm |
Bouncing Serve | Kleff | Volleyball | 2 | Fri Oct 09, 2009 02:44pm |
Re-serve | DaveASA/FED | Volleyball | 5 | Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:08am |
Movement before serve | refnrev | Volleyball | 5 | Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:46am |
BLOCK SERVE | SportsPlayByPlay | Volleyball | 2 | Mon Nov 20, 2000 06:29pm |