![]() |
|
|||
She didn't attack the ball!!!
Basketball refs have a long-held tradition of sharing comments by coaches, when they reveal that they have no idea what the rules are. Here's mine from this weekend's convention center tournament.
Team A's first contact is an overpass. Team A's back-row setter jumps to try to save the pass. When the ball enters the plane of the net, Team B's hitter attacks the ball, which then contacts Team A's setter whose hand is clearly above the height of the net. I call the back-row block. Routine call. Easy. Team A doesn't agree because, in the words of the head coach "she didn't attack the ball!" So I show the illegal block signal again, thinking maybe she misunderstood what I called. To no avail. She sends the captain to inform me that the setter wasn't attacking the ball. I tried to explain that she can't block either, but I don't think the captain understood. Finally, just had to say, we're moving on. Oh well. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Attack definition | gair-z | Volleyball | 4 | Wed Oct 09, 2013 03:02pm |
Libero attack / attack over the net | DaveASA/FED | Volleyball | 2 | Fri Oct 13, 2006 08:03am |
DP/FLEX attack | CecilOne | Softball | 13 | Wed Jul 05, 2006 05:13pm |
Back Row Attack equals Panic Attack!! | rainmaker | Volleyball | 4 | Thu Sep 04, 2003 01:31am |
Count the bucket? Dead Ball? Act like you didn't see it? | fletch_irwin_m | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 25, 2003 11:13am |